Introduction

Hello, and welcome to my website! I am an attorney located in Hertford, North Carolina, serving Perquimans, Pasquotank, Gates, and Chowan counties. I concentrate my practice in the areas of estate planning, estate administration, probate, elder law, and guardianships. In short, this means I assist clients with writing wills, trusts, powers of attorney, settling the estates of loved ones, and I also act as guardian for both the elderly and others who need it.

I am licensed in North Carolina and Florida and have over 10 years of experience serving the community of northeastern North Carolina. Prior to moving to Perquimans County, I practiced law in Raleigh for 10 years. I have been a member of many professional and civic organizations such as the National Academy of Elder Law Attorneys and the Wake County Estate Planning Council. In addition, I have published numerous articles in various publications and spoken before local groups on subjects related to planning for disability and incapacity, administering estates, and protecting assets.

Although I am now in northeastern North Carolina, I am originally from upstate New York. My mother was an attorney and I worked as her secretary while attending Nazareth College. After graduation, I decided I could no longer live in a place with such cold weather. I moved down here and earned my law degree from Wake Forest University School of Law in Winston Salem in 1993. Shortly thereafter, I moved to Raleigh, and following in my mother’s footsteps, I opened my own law firm.

In 2001, I met and married the love of my life, who happened to be a native of Perquimans County. My daughter and I relocated to northeastern North Carolina. Yes, it was a significant change moving from the city of Raleigh to the rural community of Hertford. However, having grown up in rural upstate New York, I think I have adjusted pretty well.

In my spare time, I enjoy traveling, exercising, and playing with my dog. I am one of six children, so I love to visit my mother, siblings, nieces, and nephews. In addition, my daughter has grown up and now lives in Raleigh, so I travel back and forth quite a bit to visit her. I have also competed in a few triathlons and love to bike.

I hope that my website is helpful to you and welcome you to contact me for a consultation. I also do group talks at Alzheimer’s support groups, civic groups, and the Albemarle Plantation and am available for group booking appointments.